NaNoWriMo PrepOutMon

I’m gearing up for NaNoWriMo. Yes, I know NaNoWriMo isn’t until November. So why the rush? I am determined to meet the challenge! Not just for the cool NaNoWriMo gift that I will present to myself upon completion. No, no. I am not that shallow. (I am.) I need to prove to myself that I can manage my time between mom-ing and writing. And with a toddler, this is going to take some major organization on my part.

My NaNoWriMo History:

  • 2011- I joined the NaNoWriMo frenzy. I completed my 50,000-word “novel” by the skin of my teeth. The result was a halfway-decent idea and word-garbage (a.k.a., a “novel”).
  • 2012- In a sleep-deprived moment I thought, “I can do NaNoWriMo this month!” However, 20 minutes later, I remembered that I only had time to nurse, eat, and hold my 3-month-old baby 24/7. So I didn’t even start.

My 2011 Trophy

But, y’all, it is 2013. Things are going to be different. So on 9/1/2013, I am starting my own event: NaNoWriMo PrepOutMon (National Novel Writing Month Preparation And Outline Months). Let’s agree to just call it PrepOutMon.

Once a week, for two months, I will spend time planning this novel–generating some solid novel ideas, selecting one concept, and outlining the crap out of this book. I’ll update you on my progress once a week, just to keep me honest.

PrepOutMon progress to date:

  • I plan to get organized…
  • And blogged about it.

Who wants to join me? I’m talking to you, Heather! Anyone else?

21 responses to “NaNoWriMo PrepOutMon

  1. Of course I will join you! Even though I should be elbow-deep in rewrites on a project I’d like to start querying agents for in January. Because that’s how I roll.

    I thought the Mon was Jamaican. I like a cultural flair, mon.

    • I don’t know… I think rewrites are way more important. Congrats on having a goal-date for queries!! Organization/schedules are new to me, so I marvel at others who seem to have been making schedules for some time. And people who stick to those schedules, well they are just super heroes.

      I say PrepOutMon with a bit of a Jamaican accent. It soothes me. ;)

  2. Pingback: NaNoWriMo | trial and errors

  3. Pingback: Outlining for NaNoWriMO | trial and errors

  4. Pingback: PrepOutMon-day: With An Idea And a Bus Pass… | Pen & Stink

  5. I haven’t been able to do NaNo the last couple of year, but 2013 calls… Great blog :)

  6. Pingback: Avon Impulse NaNoWriMo Romantic Novels

  7. Pingback: I don’t know when to tell myself to stop. | Ramblings and Writings

  8. Pingback: A Writer’s Day: Part 8 | A Writer's Blog

  9. Pingback: Harry Potter is…overrated. | National Novel Writing Month | The Blog That Made No Sense

  10. Pingback: NaPoWriMo Day 8 – Ulan | Unwritten Thoughts

  11. Pingback: The Outline | trial and errors

  12. Pingback: Ponder This… #4 | The Literary Syndicate

  13. Pingback: How to Plan a Scene | Caroline Norrington

  14. I dd it last yr when my daughter was 2 and a bit by forcing myself to speed write. It can be done! Only way I can do it around her and work. Good luck!

  15. Pingback: NaNoWriMo 101: National Novel Writing Month for Beginners | A Girl Who Writes

Leave a Reply

