Autumn is Coming

Autumn is amazing. According to my husband, autumn begins September 21st. I am too lazy to fact-check, so let’s go with that. But for me, autumn begins the day after Labor Day. Kids are going back to school, emerging-adults are off to college, and the nights start getting chilly.

I like lists so here are some of my Autumn Favorites:

  • Frye boots
  • Changing leaves
  • Apple cider
  • Apple picking
  • Pie-making
  • Sweaters
  • Stews in the slow-cooker
  • Crunch of leaves
  • County fairs
  • Roasted veggies sprinkled with garlic and rosemary
Pumpkin on a bench

Pumpkin on a bench

Classic list. Deal with it. But this autumn, I’m also looking forward to a few changes. You want them in list form too? Okay!

  • Joining a writing workshop 9/24 (I added a countdown on the right)
  • Having a toddler
  • Failing at NaNoWriMo
  • Joining a gym to lose last 9 lbs
  • Preparing real Thanksgiving dinner for first time

Let’s hope that this is a long autumn! What is your favorite thing about autumn?

11 responses to “Autumn is Coming

  1. YOU WILL NOT FAIL NANO! You won’t. You’ll get to 50K. You’ll see!

    School starts in August here, so back-to-school feels like sweat and humidity. Fall means Halloween costumes and hikes in the mountains with the crisp smell of leaves, cookouts with the family, making apple butter. The list goes on!

    • Maybe we can be NaNoWriMo buddies again? I need all the help I can get.

      August start is cruel. The end of August is practically mid-summer. In the timeline of my mind we go from mid-summer to beginning of fall.

      Also, I can’t wait for my shipment of apple butter to arrive in the mail. I’ll take a crate-full, please. Thank you!

  2. personally, the pumpkin spice everything is a fave of mine.. but I already miss summer… and it’s not even gone yet.. :(

  3. Love that Fry boots are top of your list! My Fry boots are always on in the fall. They are getting lonely want want to come out of the closet.

    • Haha! Hello, fellow Frye devotee! Mine are lined up in the back of the closet collecting dust. I usually break them out end of August (in the evenings with a sundress) because I just can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

